May 20, 2022, 10:18

    Warning over Facebook New Profile Pic app that has chilling links to Russia – World News

    Warning over Facebook New Profile Pic app that has chilling links to Russia – World News

    Facebook users are being warned against a New Profile Pic app which is sending data to Russia.

    Hundreds of thousands of people have been updating their profile pictures via the new app in the latest online trend.

    The app then modifies the picture they uploaded and creates a new image that they can share on social media.

    But many are unaware that their information is being sent to a company that is registered in Moscow.

    Linerock Investments, the firm behind the app, is based next to the Russian Ministry of Defence three miles outside Red square, according to Mail Online.

    Jake Moore, Global Cybersecurity Advisor, ESET Internet Security told the publication: "This app is likely a way of capturing people's faces in high resolution.

    Tens of thousands of people have already uploaded their photographs to the servers

    "I would question any app wanting this amount of data, especially one which is largely unheard of and based in another country."

    The app uses facial recognition technology to find key points on an image of your face uploaded to the servers and then renders a new version.

    According to the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists Offshore Leaks database, Linerock is registered in Moscow and has a Russian director.

    Many will be unaware that the company behind the app is based in an apartment complex overlooking the Moscow River

    The app can be downloaded to your device, and allows the sending of data including your location and access to other social media images on your feeds.

    The company's data policy states 'we collect certain personal information that you voluntarily provide to us'.

    It adds: "We collect your name, email address, user name, social network information and other information you provide when you register."

    Users have been warned to be incredibly careful when uploading photos or personal data

    The app is number one in photos on the Apple app store and has been rated 25,000 times on Google Play.

    A spokesperson told MailOnline: "We are a BVI company with development offices in Russia, Ukraine, and Belarus," and said they do not share any user information in a way that is not listed in their privacy policy.

    They said images are sent to Amazon servers to apply the effects, are not visible to anybody and are deleted after two weeks.

    Read More

    Read More

    Sourse: mirror.co.uk

    Related posts

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. You can find a detailed description in our Privacy Policy.
    Accept
    Reject
    Privacy Policy